Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Creative Names For Dogs

When you get a new dog, deciding upon the name can be be overwhelming. While there are many common pet names, it's easy to come up with a creative name for your dog that won't get lost among the Spots and Rexes. But remember: Though it's fun to think of a creative name, make sure it's a name you won't mind yelling loudly to call your dog in your neighborhood or at the local park.


Avoid Common Names


According to a survey conducted by VPI Pet Insurance, Max and Molly are the most common male and female dog names. Consider a list like VPI's as a starting point; once you review - and eliminate - the most common male and female names, you're well on your way to finding a creative dog name. The same rule applies for popular dog characters. Names of movie characters like Lassie and Lady are extremely common. For creative ideas, troll animal shelter websites. Because they take in animals constantly, the pet names are often creative and uncommon and could spark the inspiration for your new dog's name.


Consider Alternate Sources


Rather than recycling common dog names, consider names from unexpected sources. Think about the characters from your favorite book or movie. For example, Huck and Frodo are far more creative than Spot and Buster. Remember, though, stay away from names of dog characters because those tend to be frequently used. Another option is to consider adjectives and adverbs over proper nouns. For example, if you have a really rambunctious pup, consider an adjective like Rowdy. Jot down a few words to describe your pup's personality, and consult a thesaurus for options.


Think Like a Trainer


When selecting a creative name for your dog, think like a dog trainer to avoid common pitfalls. You are probably going to teach your pup some basic commands like sit, come, and down, and you may want to teach him some fun tricks, too. Make sure that your name doesn't sound too much like a common command. For example, a dog named Joe might get a little confused when you tell him no, or Clown might get mixed up with the down command. Also, shorter names tend to be easier for the dog and easier for you. Imagine trying to call your dog Finnegan or Constance at the dog park; chances are all those syllables will get lost in the noise at the park. Focus on a shorter name with solid consonants (Trudy instead of Sis) to ensure an attention-getting name for your new pup.

Tags: creative name, name your, call your, common male, common male female

Create A Logo Or Crest

Computer programs can assist in the creation of a logo or crest for any organization.


Many businesses, companies, schools and clubs use logos or crests as a way to identify their group. A logo or crest is personalized and unique. You can achieve a professional result by designing or creating the logo or crest freehand and transferring the ideas to a computer program. Software programs are available that provide support and ideas when creating the logo or crest.


Instructions


Design Your Own


1. Click on "File" from the start up menu of your computer and click on the graphic design software you are using to create the logo or crest. A drawing board will appear once the program is open. Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, and Creative Pro are three graphic design software programs that can be used to design logos or crests.


2. Adjust the properties of your document. Select the measurements and resolution for the design. Choose the average size for the design at 4 inches by 3 inches for horizontal designs and 3 inches by 4 inches for vertical designs.


3. Draw the crest or logo freehand using pencil and paper. Using the drawing as a guide, recreate the design on the computer using tools associated with the software. Tools can be located by icons along the toolbar.


4. Add text to the logo or crest. Click on the location where you want the text and drag the mouse, creating a text box. Type in the text and use the tools in the toolbar to change the font, size or color.


5. Print the crest or logo design or copy it to a flash drive and take it to a printing shop to have it printed on any product you wish.


Design Using Images


6. Search for an Internet site such as LogoMaker, So Think or Sourcetec that will allow you to create and purchase a logo or crest based on designs already created.


7. Choose the image or design you want to use from the templates provided. Be sure to find a design that represents your organization, group or business as closely as possible.


8. Personalize the crest or logo using the icon and any words, name of business, or group. Add colors, change font or adjust the text size as desired.


9. Save the logo and view it on the website. Decide if you are ready to purchase the logo or want to change something.


10. Purchase the logo from the online website and download it, save it to your computer or print it out so it can be duplicated.

Tags: logo crest, crest logo, change font, creating logo, creating logo crest, design software, graphic design

Create A Personal Marketing Plan

Knowing market yourself is crucial to landing your dream job.


The word marketing is usually associated with large businesses and organizations, but marketing is equally important to individuals. Creating and expressing an image of yourself that emphasizes your core values, greatest strengths and future goals is crucial to landing a satisfying position. It's important to do a self-evaluation and polish your networking skills in order to put your marketing plan in action.


Instructions


1. Make a list of your strengths. Review your current resume and make a list of practical skills you have attained throughout your job history. Add any interpersonal or leadership skills that you have gained as well. Remember to consider volunteer positions, hobbies and other similar activities you participate in as you tally your strengths.


2. Determine your values. Make a second list of values and beliefs that are most important to your identity and career practices. Narrow your list to three to five values that are most important to your career and life.


3. Create goals. Do some writing about your personal and career goals. Consider where you would like to be in a few years as well as where you would like to be in the long run. Prioritize your list based on which goals are most important to you.


4. Consider how you can contribute to various groups. Write about how you can best use your strengths, values and goals to make a difference to your future employers, family, community or the larger world. Think about how your specific set of skills could make an impact on local organizations. Research and make a list of local organizations where you think you would be a good fit.


5. Write a personal marketing plan. Create a brief statement that expresses your goals, values and strengths. Include organizations or positions that you feel you would be a good fit with based on your lists. Emphasize what makes you stand out from others who may be interested in similar positions. Review the marketing plan often to help you remind yourself of your goals.


6. Analyze and evaluate the job market. Look on career websites and job boards for positions and companies that will allow you to use your skills, meet your goals and support your values. Visit company websites and take notes on how well each company's mission meshes with your own.


7. Create a resume and cover letter. Put together a resume for positions you are interested in that emphasizes your strengths and values. Again, include volunteer positions and other activities that have helped you gain experience and expertise. Use your marketing plan as you write a cover letter that focuses on how your goals, values and skills mesh with those necessary for the position. Explain what you can offer. Vary your resume and cover letter as necessary based on the position. Send your resume to potential employers.


8. Network with other professionals. Use your mission statement to help you determine which individuals in your community you need to be in contact with to reach your goals. Join your local chamber of commerce or professional organization related to your field. Attend local or national meetings in your industry. Volunteer in areas of interest if you are considering nonprofit work. Have business cards ready to distribute to potential organizations that you might be a good fit with. Utilize social media websites to connect with other professionals in your field.

Tags: your goals, marketing plan, your strengths, cover letter, most important, about your

Fundraising Ideas For Sports Teams

Fund raising helps sports teams cover their expenses.


Recreational and scholastic sports teams require funds for the purchase of equipment and uniforms as well as other expenses such as travel costs to compete in tournaments. With budget tightening in schools, teams sometimes have to do their own fund raising in order to continue playing their sport. Coming up with fun and innovative fund raising ideas can help any organization be more successful.


Link up with a Professional Team


As a way to spur season ticket sales, the Milwaukee Brewers Major League Baseball Team dreamed up a promotion that would appeal to any fan -- a chance to be a big-league baseball player. One lucky season ticket holder will be given a Major League contract, including Major League pay -- for one day. Since professional sports teams strive to contribute to the local community, consider approaching one to participate in a raffle for this prize, with the proceeds benefiting the amateur recreational or scholastic sports team.


Think Beyond the Bake Sale


Activities such as bake sales or car washes can help raise money, but using a more creative approach can result in higher attendance and contributions. Have a neighborhood barbecue challenge, with backyard grilling enthusiasts -- these could be team members, members' parents, or fans and supporters of the team -- preparing their favorite steaks, ribs or chicken dishes. The proceeds from the sales of the food would go to the team. Let the diners vote on their favorite dish and give a trophy of "Best BBQ Chef" to the winner.


Get Donors Involved


Play up the fun aspect of sports by letting people who donate to the team be a part of the action. A high school golf team could give lessons to donors who are less proficient in the game than the team members. An adult basketball league could give clinics to show donors' kids the fundamentals of the game.


Recognize Contributions


Most people like to be recognized for doing good deeds, for helping others. Amateur theater companies often print the names of key contributors in the programs handed out for each performance to show their appreciation. A sports team could hand out fliers with the game schedule and a list of donors to thank. Or if funds are available consider placing an ad in the local paper listing the names of donors and expressing thanks. If you play at a ballpark with an electronic scoreboard, you could highlight donors' names periodically on that during the games.


Auction Memorabilia


Many professional sports stars began to discover their athletic talent from playing high school sports. Helping the next generation of student athletes could be something the sports star would be interested in. Contact the player's agent or the public relations department of the team he plays for and ask it he could autograph a baseball, a bat, a football or other item that the amateur team can auction off as a fund raiser.


Build a Brand Name


Create a catchy nickname for the team and design a mascot. Create a costume of the mascot design that a person could wear. Ask a local store to allow you to have the mascot appear outside and solicit donations. Sell t-shirts with the mascot and team name printed on them.

Tags: Major League, sports teams, could give, fund raising, high school, professional sports

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Genius Marketing Ideas

Use new marketing ideas to successfully market a product or service


Marketers must develop new, innovative and fresh marketing ideas to maintain an edge in the advertising world. Marketing trends and strategies should adjust to changing technology and new mediums. Marketers can observe how other marketer’s ideas work and note which new technological mediums become popular when creating their own genius marketing ideas.


Branding


Find ways to brand your product or service so that potential customers or clients will instantly recognize the item’s image. Branding allows a marketer to create an image or product reputation and encourage the public to see the marketed item as having personal relevance. Branding anchors customers to something important and familiar, building loyalty and driving purchase behavior. Create a logo and put it on T-shirts, candies, postcards and bumper stickers. Sponsor local events with the brand’s image prominently displayed. Create different branding taglines and images for different populations. An image and tagline that may work for a 20-something crowd will play differently to a group of senior citizens, so if you aim your marketing at both populations, you should find different branding techniques for each group.


Website


Create an interactive, state-of-the-art website to excite site visitors and create a buzz about the product. Use a graphic designer to build a graphically-attractive site. Create a forum that displays comments of satisfied customers and clients and allows them to "chat" through the forum. Include "expert" articles with information that expands on the marketing pitch but gives the impression of offering researched information, written by knowledgeable people, that emphasizes the marketed product or service. Offer an "Ask the Expert" service which allows people to write in with their questions that pertain to the service or product (or similar information). Add a blog to the website. Add a photo gallery to the website and keep the pictures updated. Insert keywords thoughtfully into the website which can push the site to a higher ranking on search engines. Create crosslinks to other websites that promote similar products or services.


Social Networks


Develop a presence on social network sites such as LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter. Spend one hour each day expanding the network of contacts on the social network site. Send out periodic updates, buzzes, tweets and other updating notices to notify friends and contacts about new developments and information that the product or service offers. Connect with friends-of-friends. Target the selected population when drawing new people in to investigate the product or service. Make periodic requests of friends and contacts which can allow them to forward the provided information on to new people. Use the paid advertising pay-per-click that these sites offer, which automatically targets the selected population.

Tags: product service, marketing ideas, customers clients, different branding, friends contacts, information that

Use Aol Radio

Using AOL radio is easy and you don't even have to be a member or pay for the privilege. There are over 200 different radio stations to choose from with various genres of music.


Instructions


1. Check if your computer is compatible with AOL Radio. If you are not already an AOL user, you can access AOL Radio if your computer uses Internet 5.5 or higher and Windows 2000 or XP. Firefox and Netscape are also compatible.


2. Visit AOL.com. AOL no longer charges money to be a member. Click on the Radio@AOL icon. You can use it 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If you are a Mac user, you may be directed to download some special software to make AOL Radio compatible with your computer.


3. Notice there is a wide selection of stations, including rock, country, jazz, alternative, newstalk and sports and several XM stations.


4. Note the box at the top entitled, "Station". It tells you what station is currently playing, the artists coming up on the playlist and other stations that play the same type of music.


5. Use the button on the bottom left that reads, "Radio Setup" to preset your favorite radio stations. There is a box to the right of that entitled, "Now Playing" which tells you the name of the song currently playing, the artist and the album.

Tags: your computer, compatible with, currently playing, radio stations

Improve Business Communication Skills

Improve Business Communication Skills


Good business communication skills are what often sets apart a rising corporate star from an also-ran. If a person can effectively sell ideas to others, that skill can catapult you to the corner office. But good business communications skills are often learned, not a part of your DNA. Here are some ways to make it to the corporate heights by improving your ability to communicate effectively.


Instructions


1. Find a mentor who exhibits the ability to communicate well at your company, soon after you are hired. Tell him that you want to improve your ability to communicate and that you are impressed by his skills. Ask him to share what he did to hone them. Finally, ask that he keep track of your progress and give you pointers on how you can improve. As you become a "seasoned employee" who is on the rise, volunteer to become a mentor to someone who has just been hired.


2. Improve your ability to listen, and you are halfway to being a good business communicator. You may think that you listen well, but the chances are you are actually figuring out what you should say next. Ask good questions, and then listen well to the answers. You are likely to break through someone's "hidden agenda" and learn what is really important to her. Above all, remember there is often a difference between what someone may say and the opinions she might actually have.


3. Practice your business communications skills as frequently as you can. Start by writing memos and emails. Always write your findings, recommendations and other requirements of your job, even though you normally offer them face-to-face. Curry favor by offering them as an adjunct to your oral presentation. It demonstrates both professionalism and forethought.


4. When you attend a meeting, be sure your presence is felt by the questions or answers you give. If necessary, force yourself to do this until it becomes second nature. When you are asked to present your views to a group, prepare a formalized presentation then practice it beforehand. Increased familiarity will ease presenting to a group.


5. Take communications courses that your company may offer, or request permission to attend sessions by Dale Carnegie Corporation or something similar. Also, learn address an audience by becoming a member of Toastmasters International, an organization with chapters across the country.

Tags: ability communicate, your ability, Business Communication, Business Communication Skills, business communications, business communications skills, communications skills

The Best Clothing Brands For Young Men

For young men who want to look their best, fashion is a big deal; it's not just a "girl thing." From the studious geek to Mr. Hunk, every young man has his own definition of stunning. Nothing can beat the top brands when it comes to purchasing clothes. The best brands put particular emphasis on comfort and quality, and you'll get everything you pay for. Does this Spark an idea?

Shirts


For shirts, the best brands in the business are The Gap, JCrew, America Eagle Outfitters, Old Navy and American Apparel. These brands are cost-effective and offer a wide range of designs for young men, from t-shirts, hooded jackets and sweatshirts to long-sleeved shirts and polos, all available in various colors and sizes. All these brands have brick-and-mortar and online stores, so you can view shirt options and make purchases in-person or via the Internet.


Jeans and Casual Pants


Brands such as Levi's, Old Navy, LL Bean, American Eagle Outfitters, Eddie Bauer, Blue Fly and The Gap have really good designs and sizes of casual pants and jeans for young men, offering options for the smallest frame to those who are in the XXL range. Levi's is perhaps the most popular brand, with its "age-old" Levi's 501 and 505 leading the way.


Work Gear


Clothes that are worn to work need to be durable. Sears has a line of work gear called Work Wear, offering many durable and affordable designs and colors in its online stores. Brands like Aramark, Dickies, and Uniforms Manufacturing Inc. also have a wide variety of work wear for young men, designed with both durability and style in mind.


Ties, Socks and Belts


Brands such as Gold Toe, The Gap, Old Navy and Blue Fly have a variety of socks and belts in their collections. Their designs range from simple to hip-hop styles. Banana Republic, JCrew and LL Bean also have a good range of belts and different sizes and colors. For neckties, you can try out J. Raffiani, an online store that specializes in men's handmade ties made from 100% Italian silk.

Tags: also have, best brands, Blue have, Brands such, Eagle Outfitters, online stores

Monday, December 29, 2014

Objectives Of A Pr Campaign

A PR campaign can attract new customers and improve profitability.


A public relations campaign is a series of communications designed for the purposes of promoting a business and increasing awareness. Common activities involved in executing a public relations campaign include writing and distributing press releases, holding press conferences, delivering speeches to interested parties, becoming involved in and contributing to charitable organizations, writing articles for industry publications and appearing on radio and television stations. Understand the objectives of a PR campaign can help you in your efforts to enhance your company's image.


Company and Product Awareness


Increasing awareness of a company and its products and services helps secure more business, and also can enhance a company's image with its investors and customers. This is particularly important for geographic areas or markets where the company and its products are not well known.


Brand Promotion


A PR campaign can reinforce a brand within the minds of consumers. In a crowded market, consumers are barraged with thousands of messages and new competition. In this environment brand promotion is critical in order for the company and its product to achieve top-of-mind awareness with prospective customers.


Expanding Available Information


PR can provide additional education to prospects. An effective marketing program puts a company in a more competitive position if the prospect is educated about the company and its products. A confused prospect rarely buys, while an educated prospect is more likely to buy.


Reputation


A PR campaign can maintain and enhance the image and reputation of a company. With the growth of the Internet and the rapid dissemination of information, it is easier for a company's reputation to be damaged even though what is written about the company online may not be true. Managing a reputation online has become an increasing concern.


Customer Relationship Management


Keeping an existing customer is much less expensive than finding a new customer to replace a customer that leaves you. Public relations can help retain customers longer because they have an enhanced image of a company and its product and services. The more positive the image, the less likely it will be that a customer begins doing business with a competitor.


Media Awareness and Positive Coverage


Public relations can also increase media awareness and enhance the overall image of a company. Increased awareness and a positive image can result in more media coverage, which can then lead to the media seeking out interviews with company officials, which then snowballs into additional awareness and positive coverage.

Tags: company products, about company, company image, company product, image company

Advertise For Amazon

Make Money Advertising for Amazon


If your looking for another way that you can make some money online, you should think about advertising for amazon. They have a lot of tools to help you advertise. You can get text links, banners, side bar ads, music players and widgets. You get paid based on commission. It's just an extra way to earn income on your site that gets traffic.


Instructions


1. ** Setting up Your Amazon Affiliate Account **


1. Go to the link below and sign up for your Amazon Affiliate account.


2. Once it's set up look through all the things you can do.


2. ** Getting Amazon Ads on Your Web Page **


1. Log into your Amazon Associates account.


2. Across the top you'll see 'Links & Banners', 'Widgets', 'aStore','Endless.com', these are the different types of ads you can use to put on your site.


3. ** How You Get Paid **


1. Look through some of the ads and pick some that work for your content. Pick one that's the correct size so that it fits correctly on your web page. You can search to customize what your ad shows when it's displayed. (ex. If you have a site about making websites, you could advertise books on HTML, CSS, JavaScript etc.)


2. When someone comes to your site and reads through your content they'll see your ad. If they decide that what you're advertising can be useful to them and they click on your Amazon link, it takes them to Amazon where they can purchase the item from the ad. They can also purchase other products and you'll get the commission for those as well since they went to Amazon.com through your account.


4. ** Overview of the Ad Types **


Links and Banners: Product Links


Link to a specific product on Amazon and show some information about that product. The Product Links tool lets you build customized Text Links, Text and Image links, and Image only links to Amazon products.


Banners:


Link to Amazon product categories and promotions using our stylish graphical banners.


Amazon Widgets:


Build Your Amazon Widgets


Amazon Widgets are rich, interactive mini-applications that bring Amazon functionality to your website. Start by selecting one of the options below. You'll then be able to customize your widget and we'll provide the HTML for you to use on your site.


aStore:


aStore is a new Associates product that gives you the power to create a professional online store, in minutes and without the need for programming skills, that can be embedded within or linked to from your website.

Tags: your site, Amazon Widgets, your Amazon, Amazon Affiliate, Links Banners, Product Links, through your

Friday, December 26, 2014

Marketing Perfume

Perfume is a luxury that appeals to many people partly because it’s more affordable than other luxuries. Nonetheless, strategic marketing will be necessary to sell perfumes that command higher prices. Since perfumes aren't staple products, a high price can prevent shoppers from buying them because they often don’t last long. Other consumers have been wearing the same fragrance for a long time and are resistant to changing it. These obstacles can be overcome by marketing a perfume’s makeup, prominence and packaging.


Instructions


1. Explain that the cost of perfume varies based on the concentration of perfume oil. Inform potential customers that more expensive perfumes typically have a higher concentration of the oil than other fragrances. Let them know that the higher concentration allows a perfume’s scent to last longer. It also means less is needed when applying it.


2. Encourage shoppers to try on a perfume or at least smell it if you come in contact with them. Shoppers who’ve been wearing the same fragrance for years are often unaware of new perfumes they may like. Introducing them to a new scent may lead to a sale.


3. Make sure perfumes connected to celebrities are prominently displayed in ads in stores, in newspapers and online. Plenty of people follow what’s going on with their favorite celebrities, and they’re interested in buying products associated with them.


4. Market connections with designers as well. Potential customers who like to follow fashion and wear designer clothes are often interested in wearing perfumes created for designer lines.


5. Publicize the origin of perfumes that have interesting histories. For example, a perfume that’s created exclusively in France will appeal to some shoppers. Perfumes created with ingredients rarely found in fragrances will appeal to others.


6. Play up the packaging. Perfumes often come in exquisitely-designed bottles encased in elaborate boxes. Buyers often save perfume bottles and boxes because some have become collectors’ items.


7. Point out any free gifts that may come with a perfume purchase. Free gifts enhance the value of an item to shoppers and can sway buying decisions. Items offered at a discount with a perfume purchase also appeal to shoppers.

Tags: been wearing, been wearing same, higher concentration, perfume purchase, perfumes that, same fragrance, than other

What Does A Sports Marketing Or Ticket Agent Do

A sports marketing ticket agent sells to distibutors who cater to sports fans' needs.


Whether a sport is played professionally or at a college level, it must be marketed to attract fans and generate revenues through ticket, advertising and sports paraphernalia sales. A sports marketing ticket agent promotes these sales. Based on data found at SimplyHired.com, in 2010 a United States sports marketing ticket agent earned an annual average salary of $59,000.


Job Duties


Marketing and selling blocks of tickets, media advertising and sports-related paraphernalia is the job focus. Researching and targeting key distributors is important. Offering unique items at competitive prices is necessary.


Skill Requirements


Being knowledgeable about the sport targeted in the marketing efforts adds to the agent's credibility. Good negotiating skills ensure his products are well represented in a variety of sales environments. Working closely with sponsors to guarantee their satisfaction promotes repeat business.


Preferred Background


A bachelor's degree in marketing, sales, advertising or a related concentration is generally required. Established ties with sports organizations or teams are helpful. Background in outside sales is an asset.

Tags: marketing ticket, marketing ticket agent, sports marketing, sports marketing ticket, ticket agent

The Importance Of Communication In The Corporate World

Strong communication skills are essential to business success.


In order to communicate effectively, business people need to understand apply a variety of methods of communication to the situations they face each day, according to the Reference for Business website. It takes practice and experience to learn effectively communicate in the business world. Understanding the importance of communication will justify the investment of money and time into becoming a more effective communicator.


Intra-Office


Internal business communication is important to your company's success. The smooth transfer of information between departments ensures that daily tasks are completed. For example, salespeople need to work with accounting people to approve new client accounts and discuss collections on past due clients. Without a smooth internal communication network, information and requests for action will get lost and delayed. The company will miss deadlines, and revenue will be slowed due to delayed invoice collections.


Managerial


Communication between a manager and employee is important in the development of the employee, the maintaining of positive morale and in creating more efficient job processes. Managers can work with employees on career development plans that improve productivity and benefit the company with the help of clear communication. The constant interaction between a manager and employee on day-to-day issues can help to head off problems before they cause damage, and can allow the staff to develop solutions that can be implemented in other parts of the company.


Customers


Improved communication with the client can gain a customer's loyalty. Internet suggestion forms, customer input phone numbers and personal representatives at retail locations are ways that companies open up communication with customers and gain valuable input. Customer service associates are trained to assist customers with product issues and problems, which can help to retain repeat business and secure revenue streams.


Community


Public relations is used to create a company image and address corporate issues within the community. Part of communicating with the community is making charitable donations to local groups, and getting involved in community causes such as school or hospital funding. Alerting the community to the company's involvement in civic causes will help to create a positive bond between the community and the company. Addressing negative issues immediately, and truthfully, is also an important part of communication with the community.

Tags: communication with, between manager, between manager employee, community company, manager employee, with community

Online Advertising Vs Print Advertisements

Online advertisements are ads which appear on the Internet, and print advertisements are ads which appear in newspapers, magazines, and trade journals. Both types seek to solicit new customers, new employees, or new viewers of their products or services. There are advantages and disadvantages to both types of advertising.


Functions of Online Advertisements


With online advertisements, they're usually a bit shorter than the print advertisements, and you can find them on just about every website you visit. With most online ads, they include forms you can fill out to join a mailing list or they try to get you to enter contests for prizes. In other cases they advertise sales that you can find only on that particular website rather than the stores.


Functions of Print Advertisements


Print advertisements may be slightly longer than the online ads because they give more details about a certain product or opportunity. For example, if you look at the classified section of the newspaper, you may see a few lengthy ads for certain jobs. In addition, some print advertisements list a website or email address as well as the phone number and mailing address.


Pros and Cons of Online Advertising


Business owners benefit from online advertising because they can reach a wider audience with the ads. A disadvantage is that if the business owners own a company in an area where most of the residents do not have computer access, they will need to focus more on print advertising to reach them.


Pros and Cons of Print Advertising


A benefit of print advertising is that it gives readers without Internet access the opportunity to learn about new businesses and job opportunities. Print advertising is beneficial for newspaper and magazine publishers because they earn part of their revenue from advertising. The disadvantage is that print publishers have tough competition with online media news outlets for revenues, which can hurt their companies.


Significance


Both online and print advertising serve good purposes for businesses. They give owners the platform they need to grow their businesses by seeking out new customers, new investors, and new employees. It benefits the readers by allowing them access to new products and opportunities that can improve their lives.

Tags: because they, advertisements which, advertisements which appear, disadvantage that, Online Advertising, print advertisements

Thursday, December 25, 2014

What Kind Of Clothing Do People Wear In Germany

Berlin is the center of fashion in Germany.


People in Germany do not walk around in traditional Lederhosen, a kind of leather shorts, and Dirndls, or white peasant blouses, all day, even in the south where these clothing items come from. In fact most Germans dress much like people in every other Western country, where clothing style is determined mostly by age, job and personal taste. Germany does have certain clothing trends that are slightly different from those in the United States, but most styles are familiar to tourists from other countries.


Climate


Germany is a temperate country, and does not generally have extremely low or high temperatures. Summer temperatures are usually in the 70s and 80s, with winter sinking to around freezing in the west, but well below freezing in the east. This leaves the population free to wear a variety of styles similar to those worn by Americans, such as jeans, sweaters, t-shirts and sweatshirts.


Business Dress


Formal clothing worn in offices is the same as in other European countries. Black, blue or grey suits are normal attire for people who work with clients, though sometimes office workers combine pink or green button-down shirts with a traditional suit instead of the normal white or blue. Ties are a part of business dress in many companies, especially in the financial, legal and political sectors. Women often combine skirts, blouses and blazers in their office clothing, or a set with a jacket and matching pants. High heels are popular in more formal offices. People who don't work directly with clients, such as internal employees in IT departments, dress more casually, without ties or in jeans.


Street Fashion


Clothing comes in all colors and designs around the world.


Young people in the major German cities such as Munich, Hamburg, Cologne and especially Berlin can be very creative with their clothing style. It is not uncommon to see neon colors and ripped shirts, or punks with Mohawks and studded leather jackets. Teenagers and university students can shop at discount retailers like H&M, Zara and Mango, which offer cheaper copies of designer clothes seen on the runway. It is not common to see people walking around the city in sweatpants and flip-flops; usually casual clothing means jeans and sneakers.


Designer Labels


Several German fashion designers are famous worldwide, including Karl Lagerfeld, who designs his own labels and also for Chanel in Paris. Jil Sander is well known for her clean and simple aesthetic, a pared-down clothing style consistent in the brand's shops and runway shows. German designer Wolfgang Joop started his first line, Joop!, in 1981 and created many popular perfumes, a line of jeans, eyewear and accessories. He left the company in 1998 and started Wunderkind six years later, a tailored women's line that debuted in Berlin in 2004.


Influences


Street style can mean many different things to many people.


Berlin has established its reputation as a fashion center in Europe with the Mercedes Benz Fashion Week, held twice a year in January and July. In January 2010, a variety of German designers and labels were showcased including Allude, a cashmere knitwear brand, and Patrick Mohr, an avant-garde designer focused on unisex garments. Germany's larger fashion companies also influence what people wear every day. Hugo Boss is a popular brand that started with formal men's suits in Germany in the 1970s. Today the company has different clothing lines for casualwear and sports, in addition to a women's line. The company aesthetic focuses on many casual urban separates, such as cardigans, silk blouses and high-waisted skirts that can be mixed to create outfits.

Tags: clothing style, with clients, women line

Competitively Price Your Ebay Items

Buying and selling items on eBay is, to some people, simply a way of getting rid of old items you no longer want. However, it can also be an investment that you make and turn over for a profit. Not everyone can afford to buy stocks and bonds or annuities so we have to resort to simpler and cheaper ways to make our money grow for us. This article will tell you competitively price your items to help your money grow. When you are finished reading this article, you will want to try it out for yourself.


Instructions


Competitively Pricing Your Items for eBay


1. Begin by gathering some items you are willing to put up for auction on eBay. Examine them and find out everything about them you can possible find out such as the maker, what they are made of, their approximate age, their condition and exactly what they are.


2. Turn on your computer and allow it to power up and load all programs necessary for it to operate properly. Sign onto the Internet and go to eBay's web site. Once there, sign into your account. If you don't have an account, it is free to sign up. Look for a bar that says "Search." Type in your item and click on search.


3. Allow time for the search engine to gather the information and then begin examining the items you find on eBay with your own. Is the condition similar? Is the age approximately the same? Are they by the same maker? Determine the value of your item by comparing yours to the ones on eBay. You should be able to get a clear picture of the value of your item within the first five to 10 items you examine.


4. Move on to your next item after you have determined the value of each one. When you list your item, you will know what your item is worth!

Tags: your item, article will, money grow, value your, value your item, what they

Advertising In The Magazine Industry

Circulation is key for buyers and sellers of magazine advertising.


Beginning in the late 1980s, the magazine industry began facing stiff competition from the Internet. This has made buying and selling print ads a process that requires much more thought and planning than before. If you're selling advertising, you need to go beyond discounts and gimmicks. If you're buying ads, you need to make sure you stand out among the many pages of graphics, text and other ads in a magazine.


Circulation


One of the key components of magazine advertising strategy is circulation. If you're buying advertising, you'll want to place your ads in magazines that your customers and potential customers read. Ask magazines in which you are considering advertising for media kits, circulation statements and audits. An audit is a report by an independent service, such as Business Publishers International, that confirms how many copies of a magazine a publisher prints, mails, distributes free, sells or sends by request. If you're selling advertising, you'll want to develop circulation lists that contain the most attractive readers for your potential customers. You can do this by buying lists, selling subscriptions, selling your magazine on newsstands, or giving away copies to the memberships of organizations with the type of readers you want.


Sales Types


You can sell advertising with a product-oriented or sales-oriented approach. A product-oriented approach focuses on improving the quality of your publication. You start by developing an attractive circulation, then service your readers with high-quality editorial. This pulls advertisers in because they want to get to your readers. Many magazines use a sales-oriented approach, driving revenue with discounts, buy-two-get-one-free programs, free website banners when an advertiser buys an ad, free color with a full-page ad, and other promotions or gimmicks. A product-oriented approach takes longer to develop revenue, but eventually provides more stable, long-term revenue. The "smile and dial" product-oriented approach can bring in revenue quicker, but you usually have to sell issue to issue, since long-term contracts are more difficult to secure this way.


Copywriting and Design


Your ad will compete with many pages of copy, pictures, illustration and ads. You may have a matter of seconds to hook a potential customer's attention as she flips through the pages of a magazine. A good headline or piece of art can stop a reader. To get him to read, you'll need to make your copy brief. Start by promising a benefit or offering to solve a problem he has. Use the ad to tease or lure potential customers to your website, or to call you, to get more information on how you can help them save money, increase their sales, lose weight or whatever benefit your product or service offers.


Setting Rates


When you set the rates for your magazine, you'll need to look at your competition. This may include other magazines, websites, radio and TV stations or direct mail. One of the measurements advertisers look at when buying magazine advertising is CPM, or cost per thousand. This is the cost is takes the advertiser to reach 1,000 of your readers. This cost is calculated by taking the cost of a one-time ad and dividing it by your number of readers. For example, if you charge $5,000 for a full-page, black-and-white ad and you have 30,000 readers, your CPM is approximately $167. You may need to set your rates based on your CPM, rather than ad prices, depending on your competition. For example, if your competitor charges $6,000 for a full-age, black-and-white ad, but their CPM is $95, you may need to lower your rates, or show your advertisers how your circulation is different from your competitors.

Tags: magazine advertising, potential customers, product-oriented approach, your readers, advertising want

The Definition Of A Strategic Marketing Plan

A well-developed strategic marketing plan will help a company achieve success.


A strategic marketing plan is an important tool for any company to have, regardless of size. It lays out, in a formal fashion, the overall goal and accompanying objectives, strategies and tactics designed to be implemented in the support of the goal. Having a formal plan will ensure that everybody in the organization knows what is going to be done when and why.


Situation analysis


A situation analysis consists of information that is gathered from internal and external sources as background for the preparation of the strategic marketing plan. This information might include sales data, customer data, competitive data and industry data.


SWOT


A SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats) analysis is an important component in the development of any strategic marketing plan. Using the information gathered during the situation analysis, the planning team identifies strengths and weaknesses (internal) and opportunities and threats (external). This list of items is then prioritized. The plan will ultimately identify how the company will leverage its strengths and opportunities and work to overcome its weaknesses and threats.


Goals, Objectives, Strategies and Tactics


The meat of the strategic marketing plan involves the goals, objectives, strategies and tactics. These will literally be the plan and will provide direction for the organization in terms of the desired end result (goal) and the objectives, strategies and tactics that will achieve that results. Objectives must be measurable and include specific, quantifiable end results with dates assigned. Strategies identify how the company will achieve its objectives. Tactics indicate specifically what the company will do.


Budget and Timetable


No strategic marketing plan is complete without a budget and timetable. The budget and timetable will provide the organization and all of those involved with the plan with an indication of how many resources can be allocated to achieving the plan's objectives (budget) and when specific tactics must be complete (timetable). The timetable should also include an indication of how often progress will be measured.


Evaluating Effectiveness


Every strategic marketing plan should include an evaluation process to determine whether or not the plan has been successful. When all is said and done, after the planning period (often one year), how will you know if you have achieved what you set out to achieve? Ongoing measurement and communication will ensure that the plan stays on track, with course corrections made as required.

Tags: marketing plan, strategic marketing plan, strategic marketing, plan will, company will, objectives strategies

Hotel Promotional Ideas

Make a hotel promotion plan that makes your hotel rise above others.


Promoting a hotel is all about creating a presence that fits the hotel's location. Hotel guests want to know that they are choosing the choicest hotel in that area. If it's a beach hotel, they might want direct beach access, free water sports equipment and tropical drinks at the bar. If it's a winter oasis, guests may want discounts at nearby ski trails or a concierge who knows the best coffee shops in the area. To promote the hotel, match the charm of the area with the charm of the hotel's style and aesthetic.


Meeting Spaces


Design a tech-savvy business meeting space.


Create tech-savvy, dynamic meeting spaces to make your hotel a hot spot for business travelers. Equip your hotel with tech-inspired meeting rooms. Cisco TelePresence Systems, for instance, offers meeting rooms fit with big-screen monitors that cater to virtual meetings around the world. Market meeting rooms and their digital accessibility on the company website and in hotel brochures.


Restaurants and Lounges


Feature signature drinks at the hotel bar.


Open a fun restaurant and nightclub lounge to bring in a younger crowd. Design a restaurant and bar that will attract people in the area who are looking for a place to spend the entire evening, not just have one drink. Create incentives for hotel guests to have reduced rates at partnering tour groups, ski trips, surf lessons or cooking lessons.


Redesign


Create an entire old-world theme through furnishings, music and uniforms.


Redesign the hotel to meet both current market tastes and your hotel's aesthetic. If the hotel features classic, sophisticated, old-European style furnishings, create an entire hotel world that corresponds to that aesthetic. Dress bellman in proper attire, add details that outfit the hotel in antiques, host ballroom nights in classic retro-clothing and advertise the hotel as a step back-in-time. If your hotel offers modern, contemporary and trendy looks, add popular cocktail drinks to hotel bar menu and vegetarian and other health-conscious items as restaurant fare, and update the gym, pool and dance venue. Feature a super-hip concierge who knows the bars and restaurants and beaches with the most appeal for younger travelers. The smallest details can spark a guest's interest to stay in the hotel.


Get Tech-y


Introduce booking through the website so that travelers reserve rooms in advance for lower rates. Lure vacationers with "lowest rate guarantee" incentives on the hotel website and in magazine and TV ads. Partnering with airfare search engines such as kayak.com and expedia.com can help advertise your hotel and pair the hotel stay with a flight for a bargain price.


Web Marketing


Create a stunning website that conveys a smart, design-conscious and guest-friendly hotel aesthetic. Following the Cornell University Center for Hospitality Research (CHR) website model, a website relaunch with search engine optimization (SEO) adds performance for the site and provides an integrated online experience for users.


Adding social-media functionality, a hotel website allows visitors to share and email or post comments and questions or hook up with the hotel on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and other media tools. Hire a designer to create a simple, easy-to-use, creative and well-written website that reflects your hotel's aesthetic and appeals to the audience that you want to reach.


Deals


Offer vacation deals for groups, families and students visiting the area. If your hotel is appealing aesthetically and is situated in a hot spot for tourists or adventurous travelers, offering hotel deal incentives promotes the hotel's guest-friendly approach. Invite guests to stay for three nights and offer the fourth night at half off. Or, offer complimentary welcome drinks at the hotel bar on the first night. Extend the hotel's services and amenities--such as the hotel lounge or restaurant--to large groups for a cheaper price. Lure interested vacationers with a quality stay at a bargain price.


Locale


Show off a hotel's care for the community by keeping abreast of local events, such as swimming meets or festivals.


Check the local scene for area events. Peruse the local paper or websites to determine which activities the hotel area is known and visited for. Note an upcoming film festival and advertise--at least two or three months in advance--the hotel's proximity to the event and the accommodations available for groups, individuals and couples attending the festival. Promote your hotel company's knowledge and care for the area. Look also for other less-media-driven events such as local swimming competitions or university graduations. Advertise in local papers, event websites and on the hotel website to reach local event attendees.

Tags: your hotel, drinks hotel, hotel aesthetic, hotel website, meeting rooms, website that

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Laws On Product Advertising

Claims made on the label of a product are among the practices addressed by advertising law.


Today's product advertising laws evolved out of the federal government's early attempts to check monopolies and prevent unfair trade restraints. Beginning in 1890, these efforts gradually expanded into regulation of all national advertising for products sold in interstate commerce. The laws can be categorized according to the federal agencies charged with enforcing them, including the Federal Trade Commission, Federal Communications Commission, and Food and Drug Administration.


Federal Trade Commission


Established in 1914, the FTC is a five-member body that takes the lead in advertising law enforcement. Its most important responsibility is to identify and root out claims that have the potential to deceive consumers. When the FTC receives a complaint about an advertising claim, investigators require the advertiser to provide substantiation, or supporting evidence. A company that cannot provide sufficient validation will usually stop using the challenged claim voluntarily. However, if the advertiser does not act on its own, the FTC has the power to force withdrawal of the questionable ad.


Federal Communications Commission


This seven-member Federal Communications Commission, formed in 1934, has jurisdiction over the broadcast industry. Its role in enforcing advertising laws is indirect but powerful. The FCC can revoke existing broadcast licenses or deny initial licensure to a radio or television station if it airs advertising that violates the law. Regulations under the purview of the FCC pertain to obscenity, profanity and other advertising content judged offensive or otherwise contrary to the public interest. The agency also monitors potential fraud on the airwaves.


Food and Drug Administration


The Food and Drug Administration, originally created as part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, has jurisdiction over advertising and other materials used to promote food, drug, cosmetic and therapeutic products. For example, the FDA polices false labeling and packaging of these goods and oversees disclosure of specified ingredients. It can require special warning statements on certain hazardous products, like cleaning agents. The FDA plays a particularly prominent role in regulating direct-to-consumer advertising of prescription drugs.


Other Regulatory Bodies


More specialized product advertising laws fall under the jurisdiction of other government agencies. For example, the U.S. Postal Service is responsible for preventing fraud, misrepresentation and prohibited content in direct mail advertising. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives oversees warning labels on products within its purview, and also plays a role in preventing misleading claims in advertising for these products. The Securities and Exchange Commission regulates the advertising of securities.

Tags: advertising laws, Communications Commission, Drug Administration, Federal Communications, Federal Communications Commission, Food Drug Administration

Submit A Book Idea To A Publisher

With many presses, you don't need an agent to publish your book.


Most large commercial book publishers in the United States -- such as Simon & Schuster, HarperCollins, St. Martin’s Press and Random House -- do not accept book submissions from authors who do not have agent representation. This doesn’t mean, however, that you can’t find a mid-size or small press to which you can submit your book idea. Many smaller presses welcome unsolicited manuscript submissions. When submitting your book idea, check each publisher’s guidelines carefully and follow them to the letter.


Instructions


1. Write a book proposal, a 20- to 50-page document that provides an overview and summary of your book; a table of contents; a chapter-by-chapter outline; a section that describes the book's objectives, content, structure and scope; a paragraph or two on promotional and marketing opportunities; an analysis of similar and competing books; and a brief author bio that lists your writing credentials and any awards you have won.


2. Choose two to three sample chapters that represent the book and your abilities as a writer. You might want to choose the introduction and the first two chapters to give publishers a feel for how your book begins. This is especially wise if your book tells a story chronologically (a memoir or history book, for example). You don’t want to send a publisher chapters from the middle of your story if it might confuse editors.


3. Write a query letter. A query letter is a one-page summary of your book and is basically a pitch letter. Write it as persuasively as possible, highlighting your book’s most interesting angles. Include your author bio and contact information in this letter.


4. Find publishers that accept unsolicited manuscripts and also publish your book’s specific genre (medical, scientific, cooking or politics, for example) by purchasing and reading "Writer's Market Deluxe Edition," published and updated each year by Writer's Digest Books. This comprehensive directory provides contact information for U.S. book publishers and lists the genres they publish, along with submission guidelines.


5. Mail your query letters along with self-addressed stamped envelopes to publishers and wait for responses. You might not hear back from publishers for several weeks to several months. If you haven't received a written response or a phone call after three or four months, send each publisher a follow-up letter, along with a copy of your query letter, via U.S. mail. Do not email or call publishers unless their submission guidelines allow for this, as acquisition editors are typically very busy and will reply to you when their schedules allow.

Tags: your book, along with, query letter, book idea, book publishers

Outline Your Career Goals And Objectives

Get advice from people in your profession if you need questions answered.


To outline your career goals and objectives, it is important to consider the types of skills and experience you already have and the necessary experience you need to move up the ladder in your profession. It may be helpful to create a time line of your career objectives and refer to it often, especially when you have met your goals or you have achieved progress. Ask for input from people in your industry if you need help clarifying how long it will take to reach certain milestones or obtain certain skills for your job.


Instructions


1. Assess your current job situation. If you are not in the industry or field you would like to be working in, write down action steps for how you can break into that industry. Research possible internships or volunteer work. Create a plan for gaining enough experience to get an entry-level position in your field of choice. Include detailed information about how long this will take and what schooling or expenses might be required to get there.


2. Write down your goals for the next 5 to 10 years. Decide what place in your career you would like to be in a year from now, 2 years from now and so on. Be specific. For example, if you work at a public relations agency as an intern, your 1-year goal is to be an account coordinator, your 2-year goal is to be an account executive and your 5-year goal is to be an account manager.


3. Determine what steps are necessary to achieve your yearly milestones. If there are certifications, credentials, job accomplishments or years of experience you need to reach goals, outline them step-by-step in the order they need to be achieved. Include how much time will be required and what potential finances you will need.


4. Use preset check-in dates to assess your progress. For example, mark dates on your calendar that are 3 or 6 months apart. On each date, look at your career plan and see if you are still on track and if you are meeting goals. If you have changed your goals or objectives, revise your plan and the action steps required.


5. Brainstorm different resources for help or write down the names of people who may be able to answer questions you have about your career goals or objectives. Run your plan by others in the field or compare it to the industry trends or normal rates of progress for your profession.

Tags: your career, goal account, your goals, your profession, action steps

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Set Up A Mobile Phone Shop

Set up a Mobile Phone Shop


Cell phones are a hot commodity. Only 15 or 20 years ago, they were luxuries reserved for movie stars driving fancy cars. Today, you'd be hard-pressed to find someone who doesn't have a cell phone. People have even cut out home land lines and opted to go with their cell phones as their primary number. According to a recent study by the CTIA/the Wireless Association, "the value of the combined mobile wireless voice and broadband productivity to the U.S. economy $151.2 billion half way into the year." Follow these steps and you just may be able to get your chunk of this billion-dollar pie.


Instructions


Set up a Mobile Phone Shop


1. Choose your primary mode of operations. You can have your mobile phone shop set up online, at a physical retail location, or a combination of both. Review your market to determine which is the best option for you. If there is a mobile phone store in every shopping plaza in your city, it might not be a good business idea to open a physical location. The founders of Shopkami.com speak in favor of online mobile shops: "Cell phone shopping on the Internet gives consumers the increased advantage of easily comparing rates among several websites without doing the legwork up and down the high street." However, you do have to consider the amount of competition there is online. You could opt to go with a smaller physical location that drives traffic to your website and using your website to drive traffic to your physical shop. Research your market and weigh your options.


2. Consider buying into a franchise. Because of the amount of increasing competition, you may want to consider buying into a franchise. Consumers are choosing to stick with more established brands to avoid making the wrong choices. As a franchisee, you have the ability to piggyback on the established reputation and name recognition of the company. A franchise also helps you save on advertising because their advertising dollars benefit all associations. Wireless Toyz is a major mobile phone operation that has branched out from coast to coast. They also have financing available for business owners with limited capital.


3. Find a niche. There is so much competition out there, from franchises to forward-looking entrepreneurs to the mobile service carriers themselves, that you have to find a way to make it worthwhile. If you can't be heard amongst the clutter, you shouldn't venture into the mobile phone industry. Find a segment of the market that has a lot of demand that isn't being met. You could also cater to a certain buyer. You can cater to affluent buyers, teenage buyers, business women, etc. Find a concept that makes your mobile shop unique.


4. Plan. No business can be successful without proper planning. Create your business plan and make it clear what will make your business mobile shop successful and the steps you will take to get it there. Also develop a marketing plan, a system for managing your finances, and an exit strategy if the business doesn't go the way that you initially planned.


5. Get financing. All businesses need start-up money. Submit your business plan to potential investors. You can try to get financing through banks, commercial finance companies, private investors and even the Small Business Association. Even if you decide to open an online-only mobile shop, you will still need money for inventory. Your business model will determine whether you can just ask relatives for a few thousand dollars or you can ask your local bank for tens of thousands.


6. Get a master agent or sub agent. "There are two main types of mobile phone setup: 1) pay-as-you-go; and 2) monthly contract," writes Viput Visitkul. Both will be the lifeblood of your mobile phone shop. To offer service, you will need a connection to the major cell phone corporations. Master agents are independent wholesale companies that serve as your liaison to the corporate cell phone companies. Your commissions for service activation are going to be made through a master agent or a sub agent. Some master agents stick to working with one wireless provider and others work with several. The master agent is essentially your contact person for getting commissions from mobile service providers, activation of services, phone inventory, and getting the necessary equipment for sales and operations.


7. Get phones and accessories. To makes sales, you need to get phones. You should only purchase phones that fit in line with your niche market business model. This will save on unsellable inventory. Accessories are probably where you will truly cater to this niche market. Young girls are more likely to purchase pretty, colorful cases, while business execs probably want a multi-purpose, black leather cell phone carrier. Know your niche market and buy accessories that they want.


8. Get the right furniture and dummy phones. Following your niche model, furnish your store based on your chosen theme. If you are catering to business woman, why not decorate your shop with a casual lounge area where they can stop, sit and handle an important business transaction while you wait to serve them. If you are catering to teenage boys, don't buy any chairs, just have areas where they can play with the gadgets without interruption. Set up dummy phones for the more expensive phones that you don't want people touching. However, be mindful that the sale is often made by giving the customer the opportunity to handle the real phone. You can get phones from wholesalers as well as your master agents.


9. Handle your marketing and advertising. Franchisees have an advantage. The parent company does their own advertising for the benefit of the brand. So, the individual franchise doesn't have to pay as much to get people in the door. Independent business owners have to find ways to get people in the door. Use the methods that reach your target market. If you are catering to business women, buy advertising in the magazines that they read. If you are catering to teenagers, use Twitter and save on the advertising dollars.


10. Hire a sales staff. Most of your money is going to come through activations and your additional profits through upsells. Hire employees that are personable, know the industry and are not afraid to offer accessories confidently. If you are using an online-only model, find affiliate programs so that you can have others help you generate traffic to your site and make sales by offering a commission per sale.

Tags: cell phone, master agent, mobile phone, mobile shop, niche market, traffic your, your business

Inexpensive & Entertaining Fundraising Ideas For Colleges

Fund-raising helps keep most college organizations afloat.


Raising money for a college event or organization can often be a more costly endeavor than you might think. In truth, it is not uncommon actually for a college organization to lose money when trying to put on a fundraiser rather than make money. However, cheap fund-raising can be done with the right creativity and resourcefulness.


Wristband Selling


Rubber imprinted wristbands are far cheaper than you might think. Selling a wristband with your organization name or cause imprinted on it is very cheap. Sell the wristbands for about $2. Most rubber wristbands only take a few cents to make. If you purchase them wholesale, you can get each wristband for only $0.20 to $0.50 per band. This makes your profits very high, even if you only sell a few dozen. It can also give you a sense of camaraderie with your fellow students who purchase these bands.


Battle of the Bands


Holding a Battle of the Bands event at your college for fund-raising can be very profitable. Charge each band an entrance fee, have concession stands and sell t-shirts. You will cover the costs of holding the event with the profits with plenty left over. Make sure to publicize the event well with announcements on campus and posters plastered wherever you can receive permission to hang them. It will not only be a fun event, but it can give you a high return.


Bingo Night


Bingo is not only for civic centers and retirement homes, but it can also be a great fundraiser. Ask local companies to donate prizes for the fundraiser so that you do not have to give out any of your funds as prizes. You can use something as simple as a free pizza or a gift card as incentive enough to attract players. Charge each player a small fee per game and sell snacks and drinks between games. However, it should be noted that this kind of fundraiser will require permission from both the university and the city as it could be considered a game of chance or gambling. Ask the sponsor of the club or organization to find out if university rules permit this fund-raising activity, or inquire at the Office of the Provost and then contact the county or city clerk for further verification.


Auctions


Auctioning off the services of members of your organization is a very cheap way to earn funds. Have a base price for each person or service you sell with a clear set of services that person will do when purchased. Selling the services of students to mow lawns, shovel snow, or rake leaves can be fantastic for local residents and having participants help with math homework or with a research paper can be valuable for students.

Tags: Battle Bands, Charge each, might think, than might, than might think

Maryland Vehicle Smoking Rules

Smoking is limited in vehicles in Maryland.


More laws are being put into effect to prohibit smoking in specific places for public health reasons. Maryland bars people from smoking in their vehicles under certain situations.


Company Vehicles


Maryland prohibits smoking in vehicles owned by a company and used for company business. The law previously barred smoking when more than one employee was in the vehicle, but was extended to include lone occupants. Violators can be ticketed and fined, and their company will be notified.


Kids in the Car


As of 2009, pending Maryland legislation would ban smoking in vehicles when children under age 8 are present, with a $50 fine for each violation. Opponents say the measure would restrict personal freedom; supporters say it would keep kids from being exposed to harmful secondhand smoke.


Cigarette Litter


Because of pollution and fire concerns, Maryland has also increased fines for those who toss cigarette butts out of their cars. Motorists and passengers are advised to use the ashtrays in their vehicles.

Tags: smoking vehicles, their vehicles

Monday, December 22, 2014

Difference Between Sponsors & Donors

Sponsorships and donations provide different ways to build lasting partnerships.


Donations and sponsorships are vital to business --- particularly to charitable organizations and nonprofits which operate primarily off of monetary gifts. While the nuances between the two categories will vary based on the organization, a donation is generally a onetime gift that goes to the company's general fund, while a sponsorship involves a renewed pledge that supports a specific cause or project.


Frequency


The most common difference between a donation and a sponsorship lies in the frequency of the contributor's gift. Many organizations classify a donation as a onetime gift of any amount, and a sponsorship as a fixed amount contributed regularly over a certain number of months or, more commonly, years. However, in some cases, a donation of a large amount to a particular project can qualify as a sponsorship even if it is a onetime gift.


Benefits


Donating to a charitable organization often qualifies donors for a tax rebate if they do not receive anything in return for their gift. Sponsorships can be tax deductible when not connected to advertising or personal gain, as in the case of money pledged regularly to a humanitarian group to sponsor a child or a family. However, most corporate sponsors provide money to companies in exchange for marketing opportunities, thus making them ineligible for tax rebates. This kind of sponsorship provides a different sort of benefit for the contributors, such as the chance to advertise their logo and expand their audience.


Recognition


Most companies honor both their donors and their sponsors, listing their names on company websites or materials and thanking them for their generosity. Sponsors tend to be particularly emphasized, and frequently receive specific advertising space to ensure that their organization receives as much exposure as possible in return for their contribution. This allowance also allows sponsors to have their names or brands recognized alongside the charitable causes they support, drawing their audience's attention to their commitment to social issues or their investment in the community.


Effort Invested


Donations require considerably less effort than sponsorships because they are by nature a single event: The donor gives the money, and the donation is finished. Sponsorships, especially those concerning marketing, entail more time and planning. A good sponsorship will encourage communication and crossover between the sponsoring and receiving parties, inviting the sponsor to share the vision of the company to which she is contributing while freeing that company to pursue its goal without having to worry about funding.

Tags: onetime gift, return their, their audience, their names

Easy Way To Do Face Painting For Kids

Easy Way to Do Face Painting for Kids


Face painting is a popular activity at children's parties and other events where children are present. Without being trained as an artist, you can create face-painting designs for kids that are simple and will make them happy when you are finished. With a little practice, you will be ready to paint faces at the next event with confidence. Does this Spark an idea?


Simple Designs


Create simple face-painting designs by making cheek art, according to EasyFacePainting.com. Cheek art is exactly what it sounds like. Paint small designs on one or each cheek instead of trying to cover the whole face with an elaborate painting.


Paint a rainbow design on a child's face by making a small arc of red, yellow, green and blue, and add white puffy clouds at each end of the rainbow. Paint a bundle of balloons by making three colored ovals on the upper cheek and bringing thin black or white "strings" down in a squiggle below them.


A simple design for the entire face is to create a clown face. Color in the tip of her nose with red paint and make a circle of any chosen color on each cheek. Paint in arching black eyebrows and paint a thick red line around the mouth to complete a classic clown look.


Don't Overdo It


Unless you are a very talented painter, do not try to create elaborate designs on the children. With practice you will become more skilled at complicated paintings, but keep it simple when you're getting started.


Concentrate on coming up with 10 designs that you have practiced and feel comfortable with. Children will be just as thrilled to have 10 options as they would be to have 100. Get proficient at making those 10, and it will make your day far more enjoyable and the kids will be happier with their faces.


Considerations


Use only paints that are specifically made for skin to avoid irritation and make your paint go on smooth and easy, according to ShowMomTheMoney.com. Also invest in good quality brushes. Using cheap brushes will make your work sloppy and they will not last. It'll be cheaper in the long run to buy good ones up-front.


Practice as much as possible before your debut as a face painter. Paint on your own children (they'll love it) or use balloons, paper plates or whatever is convenient. Don't be afraid to make mistakes because face paint comes off easily and you can erase and start again without much problem.


Have fun and volunteer to be the face painter at school, church or other events and eventually someone will probably offer to pay you for it.

Tags: make your, will make, each cheek, Easy Face, Easy Face Painting

Business Ideas On Increase Sales For A Liquor Store

Happy customers lead to increased liquor sales.


Your liquor store may sell products that have a proven track record, but this doesn't mean you're guaranteed high sales. Every business needs to work on finding more customers. Liquor store managers can use of a variety of worthwhile and inventive tactics to create successful sales increases.


Promotional Sales


Hold promotional sales as often as you can, and buyers will start to notice. Offer two-for-one deals or a discount on a spirit that cost you less at its wholesale price if they buy a more expensive product at the same time. Try to time some of your promotional sales during special events such as holidays and festivals in your town and during sports events. Connect your liquor promotions to these events.


Build a Reputation for Expertise


Create a reputation for yourself as a knowledgeable provider of your liquors and wines. Find clever ways to demonstrate this. If possible, try get an article or two published in local newspapers or websites that includes drink recipes or rates quality wines and liquors you sell. Create a YouTube channel in which you post videos of yourself trying different brands or drink mixes and rating them for audiences.


Advertise Strategically


Don't simply advertise heavily in hopes of better sales. Create a strategic plan that will allow you to get the most for your money spent. Target your advertising to magazines, flyers and other media in which the kind of people most likely to buy liquor, wine and beer in larger quantities will be looking. Use localized advertising on search engines with keywords targeted to a heavy consumer market. It is a good idea to advertise any promotional events using the same media.


Sales-Friendly Design


Store layout can strongly impact buying decisions.


Design your store in an attractive way that encourages visitors to buy. If your store is located in a place where younger customers are likely to visit, create a festive bar or party-like atmosphere that buyers will associate with good times and good memories. If your store serves an older, more serious market, focus on creating an atmosphere of elegance, sophistication and fine quality. Attractively place spirits where impulse purchases are more likely.

Tags: your store, buyers will, promotional sales

Design An Exterior Storefront

A well designed store front should make those passing by want to come inside.


When you run a business, one of your highest priorities has to be finding ways to get people through your door. One of the keys to doing this is making sure that you have a storefront that is enticing and interesting. A well designed storefront, especially in a high traffic area, can be a huge factor in how many customers actually come inside your store.


Instructions


1. Design a sign. Incorporate your company logo into the sign or have a new, eye-catching logo designed specifically for it. Your sign is going to play a large part in attracting prospective customers who are walking down the street. Whether it is bright colors, an unusual store name or an interesting logo, something needs to make your sign stick out from the others crowding the sides of the streets. Signs that are visible and understandable from a distance can help draw people into your store.


2. Create window displays that are eye-catching. The sign is the first thing that draws an eye to a store, but it is the window displays that can bring customers inside. Larger stores often have merchandising experts whose primary job is to arrange products in a pleasing way. A large portion of their responsibility is window displays. If you don't have a merchandising person, do what you can yourself.


3. Display notices announcing current sales or deals in the window. Make sure the signs are clear and that the discount is clearly displayed. Beware of making windows look cluttered.


4. Draw focus to your best items in the window by leaving empty space around them. Items that are displayed with space around them will catch the eye of potential customers.


5. Place additional signage on the sidewalk if allowed in your area. A sandwich board in front of your shop can help slow people down and get them to notice things that you have on special or sale. If they stop to look at the sandwich board, they may notice your window display. That, hopefully, will draw them into the store. Test this option if it is possible to do so in your location.


6. Build an inviting entrance. Make sure your entryway is not cluttered. You want people to see into the store easily without having to open the door. Do not hang signs that might make the store door look cluttered or uninviting. You want people to immediately feel welcome into walking into your store. Open the door when weather permits.

Tags: window displays, your store, around them, come inside, displays that, have merchandising, into store

Friday, December 19, 2014

How Cultures Are Reflected In Preschool Classrooms

Give children exposure to many different cultures.


Culture in the early childhood classroom reaches beyond those who may look different from each other. American culture increasingly includes nontraditional families, such as children living with grandparents or same-sex parents. In addition to reflecting cultures from around the world, responsible preschool teachers should remember to include the subcultures of the American people.


Pictures


Pictures on walls are the most obvious way to demonstrate culture within the preschool classroom. Pictures can be attached to the walls with clear contact paper at the child's eye level. Include the culture of the children in the room, but mix these images with cultural images different from the general classroom population. Include cultures from other countries as well as differing family dynamics, such as a child in an image with grandparents.


Books


Use story time to discuss different cultures. Fill the preschool story area with books on different holidays, cultural celebrations and books depicting nontraditional family styles, such as books about single parents. The book area is a significant place to teach culture and the reading area created for the children should include culturally diverse materials. Make sure the material is written at a preschool level so the class will understand what they are viewing and hearing.


Local Cultures


Review the community of the preschool and reflect the cultures of that community. If one culture is dominant within the community, create artwork depicting that community and surround it with artwork representing minority cultures. The local cultures are the cultures that children witness when they are not at preschool, so bringing these cultures in through artwork or in other ways helps bring the community culture into the classroom.


Classroom Cultures


Review the cultures of the individual students. Is one student culturally Italian, while another is of Middle Eastern descent? Honor each culture by celebrating specific holidays, recognizing traditions or displaying specific images with which each child is familiar. A great way to reflect the subcultures of the classroom is to create and display a family wall where children either draw their families or families provide photographs of themselves.

Tags: community culture, cultures from, Cultures Review, cultures that, different cultures, different from, images with

Environmentally Safe Bug Sprays For Plants

Environmentally friendly bug sprays are less toxic to humans and wildlife.


Gardeners have a variety of products available for dealing with problems and pests. These products may contain harsh chemicals that leach into soil and ultimately into nearby lakes and waterways. Identifying the pest will help you to choose the right pesticide for your problem. Environmentally safe bug sprays minimize this damage to the ecology, and still give flowers and vegetables the opportunity for healthy growth and high yields. Does this Spark an idea?


Insecticidal Soap Sprays


Diluted soap sprays can be effective against many types of soft-bodied insects, including aphids, young scales, spider mites, whiteflies and psyllids, according to Colorado State University entomologist W. S. Cranshaw. These soaps can cause injury to the cells of plants, however, such as injuries commonly seen on some varieties of tomato. Soap solutions under 3 percent are recommended.


Botanical Bug Sprays


Neem oil, made from the pressed seed of the neem tree, is a native plant of India and Southeast Asia. One of its properties is as an insecticide, and people have used it for hundreds of years to repel bugs. You can find neem oil insecticidal solutions in garden stores, or mix it yourself by diluting 1 ounce of neem oil in 1 gallon of water. Spray on all part of the plant, including the soil medium. Pyrethrum is another botanical made from a type of chrysanthemum flower, Tanacetum cinerariaefolium. It is effective against many types of insects and is safe for the environment when used as directed. Though no direct links with asthma have been substantiated, it should be used with care around susceptible individuals, according to the Environmental Protection Agency.


Homemade Bug Sprays


Gardeners can find many recipes for homemade bug sprays that are environmentally friendly and safe for use around humans and pets. Make your own insecticidal soap with 1 tablespoon of dishwashing liquid like Ivory or Palmolive in 1 quart of water, and spray on plants. You can also add a bit of peanut or safflower oil to help the spray stick to the foliage. Add a bit of cayenne pepper or hot sauce to make the foliage less palatable to insects.


Bug Sprays for Indoor Plants


Indoor environments provide good conditions for bug infestations on plants. The temperature is usually warm, the air is dry and the natural predators of these pests are not around. Insecticidal soaps are a good choice for pest problems on indoor plants. They are made from the potassium salt of a fatty acid and work by washing away the protective coating on soft-bodied insects, according to Iowa State University Extension Coordinator Linda Naeve. These products must come in direct contact with the bugs, however. Apply to all parts of the plant, including the undersides of leaves, every week for several weeks for full effect.


Bug Sprays for Outdoor Plants


The EPA has deemed the use of neem oil to be safe for the environment with no lasting effects. Pyrethrum is safe to use on outdoor plants when used as directed. It breaks down quickly in the environment, especially in sunlight.

Tags: made from, against many, against many types, effective against, effective against many, many types

Risks Of An Audit Checklist

Audit checklists represent the steps or procedures an auditor follows when conducting internal or external audits. Companies use audits to ensure their financial information or business operations meet certain guidelines. While the checklist is meant to aid the auditor through this process, it does carry a certain amount of risk. Business owners and managers should pay careful attention to the audit checklist to ensure that the amount of risk in the checklist is as limited as possible.


Scope


Audit checklists typically outline the scope of the audit. The number of departments, divisions or accounting periods is commonly found in the audit checklist. Auditors will often meet company management to ensure the audit scope is sufficient for the type of audit. However, the audit scope does carry the risk of being too limited or too aggressive. A limited audit scope does not accurately review enough procedures or processes during the audit. This gives auditors a very small view of the company's operations or employees.


Conversely, aggressive audits run the risk of being too time consuming to complete. Companies are usually unwilling to pay for more accounting services than are required. Auditors will be unable to complete everything in a timely manner and properly assess the company's operations.


Inaccurate


Audit checklists can be inaccurate. Although the auditors and company managers discuss the audit prior to beginning, the checklist may still contain inaccuracies regarding the company's operations. Inaccuracies may be more prevalent in a compliance or operational-style audit. Auditors are responsible to measure and review current business operations against the company's standard operating procedures or manual. If a company's procedures or manual are incorrect, then the audit checklist cannot be completed as scheduled.


Poor Sampling


Audit checklists usually outline the sampling procedures for an audit. Sampling represents the randomly selected documents auditors will test during the financial or operational audit. Poor sampling techniques in the checklist will not allow auditors to test enough information or an appropriate amount that will accurately represent the entire function. One sampling technique may not be appropriate for all process. Auditors must carefully include sampling instructions in the audit checklist.

Tags: Audit checklists, audit checklist, audit scope, company operations, amount risk

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Network Marketing Internet Business Basics

Network marketing is a business that requires an endless source of prospects to be truly successful. Even though you can market your business to your contacts in person, eventually you will run out of people to talk with. Taking your business online can pay big dividends and help you take it to a new level.


Website


The most important part of taking your network marketing business online is building a website. You must have a place to direct your potential customers. If you do not have a website, you cannot do much of anything else online. You could potentially pay a web designer to create a website for you, or there are tools to build your own website. Spend some time to make your website professional and functional.


Advertising


To drive traffic to your website, engage in some advertising. You could potentially get involved with pay-per-click advertising through a search engine, banner ads or some other type of Internet advertising. The network marketing industry is very competitive and you will most likely have to pay more than what other industries pay for ads. Pay-per-click advertising is very effective but it can also get expensive if you are not careful. If you get involved with pay-per-click advertising, set a daily budget so you can control your costs more effectively.


E-Mail Marketing


You might choose to get involved with email marketing, which can be very effective if you target the right people. Buy access to large mailing lists targeted for certain types of products. Some services let you to send out an email every day to a database of millions of email addresses. With this type of marketing, you need a compelling ad to gives potential customers a reason to visit your site.


Social Networking


Social networking is another discipline in which to get involved. You can join a social network site and develop relationships with many people. You can share your opportunity with them after a certain amount of time. You can even prospect by looking for people in specific demographics.


Offer


Regardless of the type of marketing you choose, you need to have a compelling offer on your website. You might give potential customers some type of gift for signing up for your newsletter. Make it worthwhile to work with you and eventually you will build their trust. At that point, it will be much easier to share your business strategies with them.

Tags: your website, involved with, potential customers, your business, business online

Make Your Own Tshirt Website

Let's start with the worst-case scenario: If you Google "t-shirt website," you'll learn that this search engine alone lists 30,600,000 possible results. Assuming that not all of these actually sell the ubiquitous t-shirt but are ploys to get hits, you're probably still looking at Herculean amounts of competition. But, let's say you're undaunted and have the vision, inventory or design ideas that will make your shirts stand head and shoulders above the crowd. In that case, forget the competition and go forth to create the best site on the Internet. Whether you're a website design novice or pro, you'll find tips in this article to help move your business forward. That said, be the mogul you were meant to be by shooting your ideas into cyberspace---and may the cash be with you.


Instructions


1. Create a name for your enterprise that will attract shoppers. Domain names are snapped up fast, so finding one that isn't already taken may be the most daunting task on your to-do list. Consider an exotic spelling if the name you choose is already in play. For instance, HOTSHIRTS.COM may be gone, but HOTSHRTZ.COM may not. Have several in mind in case your first pick is taken.


2. Research your domain name picks on a site like GODADDY to see if the one you've chosen is available. If it's not being used, grab it---fast. You will have to pay a modest fee for securing it, but the name will be protected and you'll be closer to your goal.


3. Hire a designer to create your website or do it yourself. Dreamweaver® is one of the most popular softwares on the market for web design. It comes with a tutorial that can take you through the entire process step-by-step. Dreamweaver is not inexpensive so if money is an issue, consider using KompoZer, a free website builder. It has fewer bells and whistles but it's reputed to be easy to use.


4. Decide on your site's format. As a t-shirt purveyor, your sales will be contingent upon excellent graphics, so come up with a template that will allow you to show your product in the best light. If a lot of your shirts are white or light, a black background can make the styles pop. Use a grid design that allows you to display no more than six shirts on the monitor screen.


5. Hire someone to scan photos of your entire t-shirt line. As a rule of thumb, shirts photographed on people get more attention than those on a hanger, but this is a matter of preference. As a compromise, consider photos of each. Save the imagines as jpeg files. Have a Photoshop or another image manipulation program pro clean up the images so your shirts look their best on the monitor.


6. Write sales copy for each shirt. Be succinct and don't strive to use perfect English if you wish to speak to your buying audience. This doesn't mean that you should ignore spelling or use improper sentence structure. Write in a conversational manner. Read the copy aloud. If it sounds stilted, rewrite until it sounds breezy and lively. In other words, have fun writing it.


7. Establish a payment system. Checks can be problematic and credit cards come with fees, so your best bet will be to subscribe to a service like Pay Pal. Shoppers can send money to your site electronically. By the way, you must collect the appropriate sales tax for orders received from buyers in your state, but you don't have to collect sales tax from shoppers in the other 49.


8. Test your website once it's up and running. Ask friends to use different browsers like Explorer, Safari and Firefox to locate your site and place an order to be certain everything works as it should. Once sales begin to flow in, consider promotions to trigger additional business. For example, start a Frequent T-Wearers Club and invite anyone who signs up to register for a free shirt once they've purchased nine.

Tags: that will, your shirts, your site, come with, your website